Education in the Digital Age | February 15–17, 2018 | Nashville Music City Center | Nashville, TN |

Iowa Superintendent Takes Reins of Horace Mann League

Iowa Superintendent Takes Reins of Horace Mann League

By | 2018-01-02T23:04:53+00:00 February 20, 2017|

Martha Bruckner, superintendent of the Council Bluffs Community Schools in Council Bluffs, Iowa, will assume the presidency of the Horace Mann League for 2017-18 at the organization’s installation of new officers and board members this week.

The organization’s annual membership luncheon takes place at the Hilton Riverside in New Orleans on Friday, March 3. One of the nation’s longest-running public education advocacy organizations, the Horace Mann League uses the occasion of the AASA national conference to run its annual mid-winter gathering.

Bruckner, like many of the others in the league’s leadership roles, is an AASA member.

Others to be installed are as follows:

President-elect: Eric King, retired superintendent, Muncie, Ind.

Vice president: Laurie Barron, superintendent, Evergreen School District, Kalispell, Mont.

Past president: Christine Johns Haines, superintendent, Utica Community Schools, Sterling Heights, Mich.

New directors: Lisa Parady, executive director, Alaska School Administrators Association, Juneau, Alaska; David Berliner, emeritus professor, Arizona State University, Phoenix, Ariz.;

and Kevin Riley, superintendent, Gretna, Neb.

(By Jay P. Goldman, editor of AASA’s Conference Daily Online)