Conference Daily Online

AASA's award-winning newsletter, providing daily coverage of key speakers, topical sessions, photos and video clips of the conference.

Seven Graduate Students Receive $2,500 Scholarship Awards

Seven outstanding graduate students in educational administration have been selected to receive scholarships from AASA toward their studies.

Each recipient received a $2,500 scholarship given in honor of AASA’s former executive directors — Sherwood D. Shankland, Worth McClure, Finis E. Engleman, Forrest E. Connor, Paul B. Salmon, Richard D. Miller and Paul D. Houston.

In previous years, the awards were presented during the annual AASA national conference.

The 2021 scholarship recipients are:

James Ray Howington Jr.
Senatobia Municipal School District
Senatobia, Miss.

Stabler Ross Janeiro  
Jackson-Madison County School System
Jackson, Tenn.

Keith Randall Turner
North Chicago Unit School District 187
North Chicago, Ill.

Deborah Simone Van Roy
Ricardo Flores Magon Academy
Denver, Colo.

Jacob Evan Wilson
Cleveland County Schools
Shelby, N.C.
The AASA Educational Administration Scholarship was created in 1949 to provide incentives, recognition
and financial assistance to outstanding graduate students in school administration who intend to make the school superintendency a career. AASA selects recipients on the basis of their experience and excellence in school administration, personal essays and recommendations from university faculty.

Share this story
Related Posts