Conference Daily Online

AASA's award-winning newsletter, providing daily coverage of key speakers, topical sessions, photos and video clips of the conference.

Three Top Female Leaders Feted at 2nd General Session

Three top educators received AASA’s Women in School Leadership Awards at the 2nd General Session of the AASA conference on Friday in Nashville.

Two finalists had previously been named in each of three categories, so all six were on stage for the morning announcement.

The honorees in each category were as follows:

Superintendent Award: Blondean Davis, superintendent, Matteson School District 162/Southland College Prep Charter High School, Richton Park, Ill.

Central Office/Principal Award (for any female central-office or building-level leader): Sharon Suritsky, assistant/deputy superintendent, Upper St. Clair School District, Upper St. Clair, Pa.

School-Based Award (for a female classroom teacher or school-based specialist): Fran Glick, coordinator of digital learning, Baltimore County Public Schools, Baltimore, Md.

The other finalists were: Laurie Barron, superintendent, Evergreen School District 50, Kalispell, Mont.; Tania Tong, director of special education and student services, Medford School District, Medford, Ore.; and Karen Rubican, counselor, Canon-McMillan School District, Canonsburg, Pa.

This award, sponsored by Horace Mann and AASA, pays tribute to the talent, creativity and vision of outstanding women educational administrators in our nation’s public schools. Jim Yale, the vice president of industry relations from Horace Mann, introduced the finalists and winners.

Any female superintendent, assistant superintendent, aspiring superintendent, central-office director, school principal or classroom teacher in the United States who plans to continue in the profession was eligible to apply.

The award is designed to recognize the exceptional leadership of active, front-line female administrators who are making a difference in the lives of students every day.

Complete details about the award program and the finalists can be found in the official AASA press release.

Share this story
Related Posts