Conference Daily Online

AASA's award-winning newsletter, providing daily coverage of events, photos and video clips of the conference.
Close this search box.

2019 National Superintendent of Year to be Revealed Thursday

Superintendents from the third-largest city in Idaho, a county district in central Georgia and two sprawling suburban districts in Indianapolis, Ind., and San Antonio, Texas, are the four finalists for the 2019 National Superintendent of the Year award, which will be announced in on Thursday, Feb. 14.

The announcement will take place around 5 p.m. Pacific Time at the 1st General Session of the AASA National Conference on Education in Los Angeles.

This marks the 32nd anniversary of the program, which honors school system leaders throughout the country and internationally. The award is co-sponsored by VALIC, First Student and AASA.
The four finalists for the 2019 AASA National Superintendent of the Year are:

Jeff Butts, Metropolitan School District of Wayne Township, Indianapolis, Ind.;
Curtis Jones Jr., Bibb County School District, Macon, Ga.;
Mary Ann Ranells, West Ada Joint School District #2, Meridian, Idaho; and
Brian Woods, Northside Independent School District, San Antonio, Texas

A $10,000 college scholarship will be presented in the name of the AASA 2019 National Superintendent of the Year to a student in the high school from which the superintendent graduated or the school now serving the same area.

For more information, see the official AASA press release.

Share this story
Related Posts