Conference Daily Online

AASA's award-winning newsletter, providing daily coverage of events, photos and video clips of the conference.
Close this search box.

Champions for Equity to Receive Effie Jones Humanitarian Award

Steven T. Webb, superintendent of Vancouver Public Schools, and the late Joe A. Hairston, former associate professor at Howard University and co-founder of the AASA/Howard University Urban Superintendents Academy, will be recognized as Dr. Effie H. Jones Humanitarian Award recipients at the 1st General Session of the AASA national conference in San Diego on Thursday, Feb. 13.

This award recognizes leaders who exemplify the qualities modeled by the late Effie Hall Jones, a school administrator, teacher, counselor, and former AASA associate executive director in the 1980s and early ‘90s. These distinctive attributes included her professional and personal commitment to diversifying the field of education.

Webb, a former National Superintendent of the Year® finalist, has enjoyed a 35-year career in public education in Washington and California.

Hairston, who died on Dec. 27 at age 71, served as superintendent of the Clayton County, Ga., Public Schools and the Baltimore County, Md., Public Schools. He joined the faculty of the Howard University School of Education in 2014. More details about the two award winners and the Effie Jones awards can be found in the official AASA press release.

Share this story
Related Posts