Conference Daily Online

AASA's award-winning newsletter, providing daily coverage of events, photos and video clips of the conference.
Close this search box.

Horace Mann League to Install New Leaders at its 2024 Annual Lunch Meeting at AASA Conference

The Horace Mann League, a pro-public education society that conducts its annual meeting during the AASA national conference, is installing new leadership for 2024-25.

The 2024 installation luncheon and annual meeting, carrying a theme of “Unlocking Excellence: A Confluence of Minds,” will take place at 11:45 a.m. on Feb. 16, at the San Diego Marriott Marquis.

Board member Brent Clark, executive director of the Illinois Association of School Administrators, steps into the role of president of the Horace Mann League. He succeeds William Mathis, who served as president during the past year. Mathis works at the National Education Policy Center at the University of Colorado as a senior policy adviser.

Kevin Riley will be installed as president-elect. A recently retired superintendent, he works as a professor at the University of Nebraska, Omaha.

The organization also will install a vice president and treasurer.

The HML board has brought on five new members owing to several vacancies that emerged in the past year. Joining the board are Carl Hermanns, clinical associate professor at Arizona State University; Matthew Krise, chief revenue office at Edison Learning; Brooke Olsen-Farrell, superintendent of the Slate Valley Unified Union School District in Vermont; Roxann Caserio, superintendent of North Ridgefield District in Ohio; and Maria Armstrong, executive director of the Association of Latino Administrators and Superintendents.

The Horace Mann League will co-host a joint reception with the Mid-America Superintendents Association, the National Superintendents Roundtable and the Superintendents Leadership Network from 5-7 p.m. on Feb. 16 at the Omni Hotel.  

The annual meeting marks the end of the first year of Jeanne Collins Deweese in the role as Horace Mann League’s executive director. Jack McKay retired a year ago as executive director after more than two decades in the post.

Share this story
Related Posts