Conference Daily Online

AASA's award-winning newsletter, providing daily coverage of events, photos and video clips of the conference.
Close this search box.

Three Aspiring Superintendents Earn AASA Graduate Scholarships

Terry Dade

Three of the nation’s outstanding graduate students in educational administration have been selected by AASA, The School Superintendents Association, to receive $2,500 scholarships.

The stipend awards, which are being announced at AASA’s 2019 national conference in Los Angeles, are given each year in the names of AASA’s former executive directors — Sherwood D. Shankland, Worth McClure, Finis E. Engleman, Forrest E. Connor, Paul B. Salmon, Richard D. Miller and Paul D. Houston.

The 2019 scholarship recipients are:

  • Terry J. Dade, an assistant superintendent in the Fairfax County Public Schools in Fairfax, Va. Dade is a doctoral student at Virginia Tech in Blacksburg, Va.
  • Mit Lee Foley, executive director of secondary curriculum and instruction in the Saginaw Public School District in Saginaw, Mich. Foley is a doctoral student at Central Michigan University in Mount Pleasant, Mich.
  • Oscar Romano, a principal of the YES Prep Public Schools in Houston, Texas, is a master’s degree candidate in organizational leadership at Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore, Md.

The AASA Educational Administration Scholarship was created in 1949 to provide incentives, recognition and financial assistance to outstanding graduate students in school administration who intend to make the school superintendency a career. AASA selects recipients on the basis of their experience and excellence in school administration, personal essays and recommendations from university faculty.

Details for applying for the 2020 graduate scholarships are available from AASA staffer Gabriella Iturri.

Share this story
Related Posts