Conference Daily Online

AASA's award-winning newsletter, providing daily coverage of events, photos and video clips of the conference.
Close this search box.

Three Champions for Equity in K-12 Schooling to Receive AASA’s Effie Jones Humanitarian Award

Three educators, including a past president of AASA, have been named the 2019 honorees for the Dr. Effie H. Jones Humanitarian Award, which will be given at the AASA National Conference on Education’s 1st General Session on Thursday, Feb. 14, in Los Angeles.

The 2019 recipients are:
Wanda Cook-Robinson, superintendent, Oakland Schools, Waterford, Mich.;
Traci Davis, superintendent, Washoe County School District, Reno, Nev.; and
Karl V. Hertz, retired superintendent, Mequon-Thiensville School District, Mequon, Wis., and AASA president, 1997-98.

This award recognizes leaders who exemplify the qualities modeled by the late Effie Hall Jones, a school administrator, teacher, counselor and an AASA associate executive director during the 1980s and early ‘90s. These distinctive attributes included her professional and personal commitment to diversifying the field of education with high quality leaders and ensuring the best education for all students.

More about each of the honorees is available in the official AASA press release.

Share this story
Related Posts