Conference Daily Online

AASA's award-winning newsletter, providing daily coverage of events, photos and video clips of the conference.
Close this search box.

Trio Honored with Effie Jones Humanitarian Award at AASA Conference

Three recipients will be given the 2021 Dr. Effie H. Jones Humanitarian Award during the 1st General Session of the AASA National Conference on Education on Thurs., Feb. 18.

The award winners are:

  • Lillie Cox, executive director of the North Carolina Association for Supervision and Curriculum Development in Charlotte, N.C., and executive director of the Piedmont Triad Education Consortium;
  • Baron Davis, superintendent of the Richland School District Two in Columbia, S.C.; and
  • Lillian Torrez, superintendent of the Taos Municipal School District in Taos, N.M.

The Effie Jones award recognizes education leaders committed to the advancement and mentorship of women and minorities, and/or addressing social justice issues among children and adults in schools.

The late Dr. Effie Hall Jones was a school administrator, teacher, counselor and former AASA associate executive director through the early 1990s.

Complete details of the honorees are available in the AASA press release.

Share this story
Related Posts