Conference Daily Online

AASA's award-winning newsletter, providing daily coverage of events, photos and video clips of the conference.
Close this search box.

Education Leaders from New York and Illinois Take the 2024 AASA Women in School Leadership Honors

Romy Decristofaro, far right, receives award for the Women in School Leadership during the 2nd General Session. Photo by Sandy Huffaker.

School leaders from New York and Illinois were named the 2024 recipients of the Women in School Leadership awards at the 2nd General Session of the AASA National Conference on Education on Friday morning.

In the superintendent category, the honoree was the superintendent of the Roosevelt Union Free School District in Roosevelt, N.Y., Deborah Wortham.

In the central office/principal category, the recipient was the assistant superintendent of student services in the Evanston/Skokie School District 65 in Evanston, Ill., Romy Decristofaro.

This award, co-sponsored by Horace Mann and AASA, pays tribute to the talent, creativity and vision of outstanding women educational administrators in the nation’s public schools.

Candidates are judged on leadership in meeting the learning needs of students, personal and organizational communication strength, constant professional improvement of knowledge and skills, and active community involvement.

The national business solutions executive with Horace Mann, Kelly Ruwe, introduced the winners.

Share this story
Related Posts