Conference Daily Online

AASA's award-winning newsletter, providing daily coverage of events, photos and video clips of the conference.
Close this search box.

Women in School Leadership Awards to be Handed Out in Two Categories at Conference’s 2nd General Session

The finalists for the 2024 Women in School Leadership Awards, who will assemble on stage at the AASA National Conference on Education on Friday in San Diego, hail from Illinois, Michigan, New York and North Dakota.

Winners will be named in a pair of categories at the conference’s 2nd General Session.
Finalists in the superintendent category:

  • Kimberly Carter, superintendent, Battle Creek Public Schools, Battle Creek, Mich.
  • Deborah Wortham, superintendent, Roosevelt Union Free School District, Roosevelt, N.Y.

Finalists in the central office/principal category:

  • Romy DeCristofaro, assistant superintendent of student services, Evanston/Skokie District 65, Evanston, Ill.
  • Liann Hanson, director of standards-based instruction, Fargo Public Schools, Fargo, N.D.

The awards, co-sponsored by Horace Mann and AASA, pay tribute to the talent, creativity and vision of outstanding women educational administrators in the nation’s public schools.

Candidates are judged on leadership in meeting the learning needs of students, personal and organizational communication strength, constant professional improvement of knowledge and skills, and active community involvement.

Share this story
Related Posts