Pair of Equity Champions to Receive AASA’s Effie H. Jones Humanitarian Award

The 2022 Dr. Effie H. Jones Humanitarian Award will be presented to longtime AASA leader Sharon Adams-Taylor and veteran superintendent Luvelle Brown on Friday, Feb. 16, at AASA’s National Conference on Education in Nashville, Tenn.   The announcements will be made during the 2nd General Session. They also will be recognized at the annual Effie H. […]

Horace Mann League to Deliver Annual Awards at Conference Hotel

The Horace Mann League, which is marking the 100th year of its existence, will fete its 2022 award winners at the organization’s annual luncheon on Friday, Feb. 18, at the Omni Hotel in Nashville.  The league’s award recipients are Valerie Strauss, Gloria Ladson-Billings and James Harvey.  The 2022 Outstanding Friend of Education Award will be […]

Who’s Behind the Scenes of Your Daily Conference Coverage?

The staff that made up AASA’s Conference Daily Online in San Diego included some savvy journalism professionals plus the bright-eyed sparkle of three high school journalists, all of whom were making their debut in the real-time arena of deadline reporting.

Video: Volunteer Spirit Fuels Totes With Food for Needy Kids (1:39)

A brief video of volunteers stuffing tote bags filled with food for school-age children in need in San Diego at the AASA conference’s second annual “Blessings in a Backpack” event. Supported by Sourcewell, the food supplies included macaroni and cheese, cereals and other assorted snack items.