Conference Daily Online

AASA's award-winning newsletter, providing daily coverage of key speakers, topical sessions, photos and video clips of the conference.

Kansas and Kentucky Educators Receive Women in School Leadership Awards at Conference’s 2nd General Session

Two outstanding educators from Kansas and Kentucky were named AASA’s Women in School Leadership Award winners at the AASA conference’s 2nd General Session in San Antonio on Friday. Tiffany Anderson, superintendent in Topeka, Kan., was honored in the superintendent category. CheyAnne Fant, district director of nutrition services and afterschool programs in Barren County Schools in […]

Joy and Unity Expressed Before Sellout Audience at Effie H. Jones Memorial Equity Luncheon

The words “joy,” “power” and “unity” echoed through the Dr. Effie Hall Jones Memorial Equity Lunch on Friday at AASA’s National Conference of Education in San Antonio. The annual event honors Jones, a teacher, counselor and school administrator for 15 years and an associate executive director at AASA, promoting the interests of minority educators, women […]

Ohio Education Leader Receives Empowered Digital Superintendent of the Year Recognition

Matt Miller, former superintendent of Ohio’s Lakota Local School District, was honored with the Empowered Digital Superintendent of the Year Award during the AASA national conference’s 2nd General Session on Friday. This is the 4th annual award. It is sponsored by Classlink, recognizing an exceptional district superintendent who serves as a true empowered leader, leveraging […]

Anaheim Superintendent Receives 18th Annual Save The Music Foundation Award for Support Of Music Education in His District

two men, one with award

Christopher Downing, superintendent of Anaheim Elementary School District in Anaheim, Calif., is the 2023 recipient of the Save The Music Foundation’s 18th annual Administrator Award for Distinguished Support of Music Education. The award is being bestowed at the 3rd General Session of AASA’s National Conference on Education on Saturday in San Antonio, Texas. This award […]

New Scholarship in Daniel Domenech’s Honor Will Support Participants in AASA Aspiring Superintendent Academy for Latino & Latina Leaders

AASA, The School Superintendents Association has created the Daniel A. Domenech Scholarship, named after the organization’s executive director who is retiring this month.  The needs-based scholarships will help fund recipients’ participation in the Aspiring Superintendents Academy for Latino and Latina Leaders,® a highly interactive year-long program that provides participants with the real-world skills a next-generation […]

Recognition Awards Presented by Horace Mann League During Annual Luncheon

The Horace Mann League will present several awards at its annual recognition and installation luncheon at 11:45 a.m. on Friday at the Marriott Riverwalk Hotel in San Antonio. The recognitions at the event will be these. Outstanding Friend of Public Education Award: Gary Orfield and Patricia Gándara. They are co-directors of UCLA’s Civil Rights Project […]

[Video] Meet the AASA 2023 Finalists for National Superintendent of the Year (3:09)

In this short video, the finalists for the 2023 National Superintendent of the Year® discuss what this distinction means for them and what it means to be a member of AASA. The finalists are: PJ Caposey, Meridian Community Unit School District 223, Stillman Valley, Ill.; Matthew Hillmann, Northfield Public Schools, ISD 659, Northfield, Minn.; Kevin […]